Cox lores copy.jpg



The Art and Christianity Awards

DSC_4015 copy.jpg

About the awards

The Awards were set up in 2003 to draw attention to standards in religious art and design. They are open to all faiths. Although the parameters for each faith have their own limits and constraints, the consistent factors of high aesthetic sense as well as sound theological interpretation are applied to each award by an independent judging panel.

Initially the Awards were run biennially but we now have a cycle of four years.

We have taken the decision not to continue the Award for Religious Architect. A full review of the Award will be made in our journal issue no98 (due out in May 2019).

The A+C Awards were previously known as the ACE Awards.

All winning and shortlisted permanent works from the Art Award over the last 6 years are listed on our Ecclesiart pages.

image: John Maddison Altar and Reredos for Lady Chapel, Ely Cathedral

Our Awards celebrate the successes and diversity of artistic projects in religious buildings throughout Britain. We also have an award for a book which explores the dialogue between the visual arts and religion.

2019 Awards

The A+C Book Award

The judging panel will be chaired by Sir Charles Saumarez Smith, Senior Director of Blain/Southern.

The Award commends a book (published within the last three years) that makes an outstanding contribution to the dialogue between visual arts and religious faith.

The deadline for entries has now closed.

The A+C Award for art in a religious context

The judging panel will be chaired by Olivia Horsfall Turner, Senior Curator at the V&A, writer and broadcaster.

The Award will be judged in two categories, one for temporary installations and exhibitions, one for permanent new commissions. Artworks completed within the last five years must be within the building or grounds of a place of worship. The Award is open to all faiths.

The deadline for entries has now closed.

The prize-giving will take place in London on 13 November 2019.

Previous Awards

The ACE Award for art in a religious context

The 2015 Awards were announced on 26 November at King's College Chapel, London.

Winner: Maciej Urbanek, HS, St Michael's Camden

Also shortlisted:
David Behar Perahia, residency at Gloucester Cathedral
Antonia Hockton, The River of Life, St George's Church, Great Bromley
John Maddison, Reredos, Ely Cathedral
Nick Mynheer and Roger Wagner, window, aumbry and font cover at St Mary's Iffley
Bill Viola and Kira Pirov, Martyrs, St Paul's Cathedral

For a full press release of the 2015 please click here.

The ACE/Mercers’ Book Award

2017 Winner: Natasha O’Hear and Anthony O’Hear Picturing the Apocalypse


Banner image: Stephen Cox, St Anselm's Altar, 2005