Cox lores copy.jpg



The Art and Christianity Awards

Award for Art in a Religious Context

Given in association with the Martin McLaren Charitable Trust.

Award for Religious Architecture

Art and Christianity presents this Award in association with the Royal Institute of British Architects.

DSC_4015 copy.jpg

About the awards

The Awards were set up in 2003 to draw attention to standards in religious art and design. They are open to all faiths. Although the parameters for each faith have their own limits and constraints, the consistent factors of high aesthetic sense as well as sound theological interpretation are applied to each award by an independent judging panel.

Initially the Awards were run biennially but we now have a cycle of four years. The Awards will next run in 2019.

The Awards were previously known as the ACE Awards..

Our Awards celebrate the successes and diversity of artistic and architectural projects in religious buildings throughout Britain. We also have a biennial award for a book which explores the dialogue between the visual arts and religion.

The next round of Awards will be in 2019. All winning and shortlisted permanent works from the Art Award over the last 6 years are listed on our Ecclesiart pages.

The ACE/Mercers' International Book Award

The winning authors in 2017 are Natasha O’Hear and Anthony O’Hear for Picturing the Apocalypse (Oxford University Press). The runner up was Cynthia Hahn for The Reliquary Effect (Reaktion Books).

The ACE/Mercers' Book Award is the only literary prize worldwide for a publication that notably advances a public understanding of the relationship between the visual arts and religious experience, beliefs and practice.

Others shortlisted:

  • Alena Alexandrova, Breaking Resemblances (Fordham University Press)
  • Bridget Heal, A Magnificent Faith (Oxford University Press)
  • Robin Jensen, The Cross: History, art and controversy (Harvard University Press)
  • Chloë Reddaway, Transformations in Persons and Paint (Brepols)

The Award of £3,000 was presented by the Chair of the Judging Panel, Tim Marlow, on 24 October 2017 at The Artworkers' Guild.

The 2015 Awards were announced on 26 November at King's College Chapel, London.

The ACE Award for art in a religious context

Winner: Maciej Urbanek, HS, St Michael's Camden

Also shortlisted:
David Behar Perahia, residency at Gloucester Cathedral
Antonia Hockton, The River of Life, St George's Church, Great Bromley
John Maddison, Reredos, Ely Cathedral
Nick Mynheer and Roger Wagner, window, aumbry and font cover at St Mary's Iffley
Bill Viola and Kira Pirov, Martyrs, St Paul's Cathedral

The ACE/RIBA Award for religious architecture

Jointly given to Tectus Architects, Kingston Quaker Centre and WHR Pattisson Chartered Architect, The Chapel at Shepherd's Law

Also shortlisted:
Niall McLaughlin Architects, Bishop Edward King Chapel, Ripon College Cuddesdon
Simpson & Brown, St Albert's Chapel, University of Edinburgh
Theis & Kahn, Wanstead URC
Walker Cunnington Architects, St Giles Church, Pontefract

For a full press release please click here.


Banner image: Stephen Cox, St Anselm's Altar, 2005